What Is Covered In A Yoga Course?

Triifocus fitness academy - covered in a Yoga Course
Yoga Blog

The word yoga is derived from the Sanskrit word yuj and refers to a group of physical, mental and spiritual practices or disciplines which originated in ancient India. The ancient practice outlined eight limbs of yoga: restraints, observances, postures, breathing, withdrawal of senses, concentration, meditation and absorption. These eight limbs serve as a philosophical guidebook for the yoga that is prasticed today.

As yoga became more of a mainstream practice, people began to focus on the third limb, which is a set of physical postures designed to provide the physical strength and stamina required for long periods of meditation.

These days yoga is one of the most popular forms of exercise in the world. And we all know at least one person who always has a yoga mat in their car. Our favourite glossy magazines are constantly raving about it and even our personal trainers at the gym recommend it.

Intrigued yet? If you are, a career as a yoga instructor might be just the thing you need to spice things up.

If you’re serious about a career as a yoga instructor choosing the right yoga course can be tricky. Considering which level is best and what type of yoga to specialise in requires a lot of time and research. But don’t worry: we’ve got all the info you need to get started.

Yoga Course contents

Levels of Certification

Yoga has two basic levels of certification – the 200-hour and 500-hour levels of training.

There isn’t much of technical difference between the 200- and 500-hour certifications:

  • A 200-hour certification will enable to you start your own studio or work for an existing one. Deciding which level is best for you depends solely on how prepared you feel after completing the first 200-hour certification.
  • If you feel ready to teach a group of students – go for it. If you’re still feeling a little uncertain there’s no harm in doing the 500-hour certification. Most instructors end up completing the 500-hour certification anyway because it’s a great way to further your understanding and knowledge of yoga.

Different Types of Yoga

Although most yoga certifications are obtained through general yoga courses, there are some courses that focus on teaching specific types of yoga. This is a great way to develop a specialized niche. Special training programmes exist for Power Yoga, Bikram Yoga, and more. Let’s take a closer look at some of the most popular yoga certification training courses that are available on the market.

  • Kundalini Yoga

When translated from Sanskrit Kundalini refers to “life force energy” which is thought to be tightly coiled at the base of the spine. This type of yoga is designed to carefully stimulate or unlock this energy and to reduce stress and negative thinking.

This is done by challenging the mind and body with chanting, singing and meditation. Kundalini classes include a mantra, breathing exercises and warm-ups before introducing more challenging poses. The classes end with relaxation and meditation.

  • Hatha Yoga

The name “Hatha” yoga is derived from the Sanskrit words for sun and moon. It is designed to balance opposing forces. The balance in Hatha yoga comes from strength and flexibility, physical and mental energy, as well as breathing and the body. Hatha classes include a mix of poses, breathing exercises and meditation.

  • Bikram Yoga

Developed by Bikram Choudhury, Bikram yoga is a form of hot yoga. The classes include a set series of poses performed in the same order. Each class is 90 minutes, with 26 postures and two breathing exercises. The room must be heated to 40 degrees Celsius, with 40 percent humidity.

The heated environment enables students to get deeper into postures, improves circulation, and aids in detoxifying the body.

  • Yin Yoga

Yin yoga is a more relaxed type of yoga in which poses are held for up to five minutes or more. This type of yoga has its roots in martial arts and is designed to increase circulation in the joints and improve flexibility. It focuses on the hips, lower back, and thighs and uses props like bolsters, blankets, and blocks to let gravity do the work, helping to relax. Yin yoga mainly focuses on targeting the body’s connective tissues.

Final Thoughts…

No matter which type of yoga course you choose, obtaining a certification is the first step toward becoming a yoga instructor. So take a leap of faith and follow your yoga-fuelled passion. Trifocus Fitness Academy’s Yoga Certification is the best yoga course in the business so if you’re serious about becoming a Yoga instructor you need to do this course! For more information about this and our other online fitness courses, visit our website.

Trifocus Yoga registration